This list of grains identifies grains from the Grass Family, other foods from the Grass Family, specifies which grains contain gluten, and lists alternative grains.
Grains or cereals are edible seeds from plants of the Grass family. What is a food family?
Alternative grains are technically pseudocereals, as they come from unrelated plants.
Gluten is a collection of proteins contained in some Grass Family grains. These grains need to be avoided by people with celiac disease and with non-celiac gluten sensitivity.
Oats (may contain a gluten analogue; usually contaminated by gluten in processing)
These foods come from other parts of Grass Family plants.
Pseudocereals are foods that can be used like grains, but come from plants that aren't related to the Grass Family. They aren't technically grains.
For more Buckwheat Family see the list of vegetables.
(family: Chenopodiacae / Amaranthaceae)
For more Goosefoot Family see the list of vegetables
Pitseed Goosefoot (Lambsquarters)
(genus: Acacia; family: Fabaceae)
Was this article useful? Stay in touch with this site by subscribing to the free Healthy Eating e-zine!
Mediterranean cooking with unusual grains:
Gluten-free cooking and baking:
Cooking with quinoa:
Cook with the whole grains of the healthy Bob's Red Mill brand:
Guide to whole grains plus recipes: